Skip to content

A bit too excited about the budget

18 November, 2006

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: I think something has happened to me since I became a member, because when I go to bed I now read such things as this consolidated financial statement. I ask that the Treasurer put his photograph on the inside of the cover as a memento.

An opposition member: Something for you to read before you go to sleep.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: Perish the thought.

Mr E.S. Ripper: I do not like the idea of you looking at my photograph when you are in bed.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: I may already be doing so! If I have seen a woman’s face in ink spots, I can see the Treasurer’s face on the flyleaf. Who knows what could be happening in my mind since I came into this place?

Mr R.C. Kucera: No wonder he has a blue hand!

Subject: APPROPRIATION (CONSOLIDATED FUND) BILL (NO 3) 2005 (WA Legislative Assembly, second reading)

Date: Thursday, 24 November 2005

Hansard reference: pp. 7730b – 7743a [online (PDF)]

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tim permalink*
    10 December, 2012 3:14 pm

    Trackbacks don’t work for these old posts (imported from the Blogger site that came before this one), so here’s a recent (2012) post which covers a similar theme (and also links to more posts on the Buswell/Ripper dynamic): https://hansardblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/04/the-look-of-love/

Leave a Reply

