Skip to content

The world has held great Heroes…

7 April, 2007
by

MS A.J.G. MacTIERNAN (Armadale – Minister for Planning and Infrastructure) [9.44 am]: I have listened in silence to the member for Nedlands, as I listen to her grievances, and I expect to be given an opportunity to respond, which ministers rarely are given by the member in grievances. I will state very clearly that if I have to put up with what I have had to put up with in the past when I have attempted to answer a grievance from the member for Nedlands, I will simply take my seat. I therefore put the member for Nedlands on notice of that.

Mr C.J. Barnett: How self-important!

Ms A.J.G. MacTIERNAN: There are some members of this Parliament, two in particular, who have all the attributes of cane toads; they are completely poisonous individuals, loathed by members on both sides of the house. I can see them both actively participating in the debate today.

Since the last election in 2005, I have not had responsibility for licensing; that has been very clear. That has not been part of my portfolio for two years, yet the highly skilled, hardworking member for Nedlands has not worked that out. She attempts to personalise this debate, as she attempted to yesterday, by making a whole series of adverse references, including a reference that I am out of touch with my electorate. I tell the member for Nedlands that at the last election there was a nine per cent swing to me on the primaries and that I now hold one of the safest seats in Western Australia.

Ms S.E. Walker interjected.

Ms A.J.G. MacTIERNAN: Although the member for Nedlands may be concerned about my capacity to represent the people of Armadale, that is obviously not –

Ms S.E. Walker: At least we on this side don’t look like cane toads.

Mr A.D. McRae: You’re shrieking again; the shriek of the Parliament.

The SPEAKER: Order, members!

Ms S.E. Walker: We don’t look like cane toads.

Ms A.J.G. MacTIERNAN: No, we have the gorgeous social X-ray here. I can tell the member for Nedlands that people in Armadale and people on the Labor side of politics are more keen to have people of substance representing them. They are more interested in the capacity of people to understand their issues and to represent them intelligently, rather than being interested in vacuous airheads with picture-perfect peroxide and designer clothes. In my representative capacity, I will now attempt to depersonalise and deal with these issues.

Subject: Vehicle Registration Process and Vehicle Testing [Legislative Assembly – Grievance]

Date: 22 March 2007

Hansard reference: pp. 590b – 592a [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

