Skip to content

sitting orders

27 May, 2007
by

Dr J.M. WOOLLARD: […] I asked the Speaker how many toilets there are in Parliament House. I do not have the figures. I have not done the equation yet; it probably works out to one toilet for every two or three members. We could have our names in gold lettering on the toilet! The government will not provide this facility to the community, yet 15 months ago a new toilet was installed in Parliament House, just outside the Legislative Council; there were already a couple of dozen toilets in the Parliament building.

Ms J.A. Radisich: I don’t think that’s an accurate toilet analysis.

Dr J.M. WOOLLARD: I will provide the numbers for the member for Swan Hills.

Mr R.F. Johnson: Not even an outside dunny?

Dr J.M. WOOLLARD: The government will not give people a toilet. The member for Hillarys –

Several members interjected.

Dr J.M. WOOLLARD: No, I am not talking about the toilet now; I will do my best to shame the government over the toilet issue.

Mr R.F. Johnson: So they should be ashamed.

Dr J.M. WOOLLARD: One day the member for Hillarys could help me –

Mr R.F. Johnson: I try to help the member for Alfred Cove all the time; she knows that.

Dr J.M. WOOLLARD: What we could do is have each of us sit on a toilet and stay there. When the Labor Party comes knocking at the door, we could tell the members that there is another toilet down the road at Kings Park. It is only one kilometre away; they could just walk down there.

Mr R.F. Johnson interjected.

Dr J.M. WOOLLARD: I hope maybe one day, the member for Hillarys and other members might support me in doing that.

Mr R.F. Johnson: I am happy to sit on the toilet for you any day.

Dr J.M. WOOLLARD: Thank you, member for Hillarys.

Subject: Appropriation (Consolidated Account) Bill (no. 1) 2007 / Appropriation (Consolidated Account) Bill (no. 2) 2007 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading — Cognate Debate]

Date: 17 May 2007

Hansard reference: pp. 2379b – 2397a [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

