Skip to content

house points

8 June, 2007
by

Dr E. CONSTABLE: I have a question related to page 917, service 1, and page 918, service 2. […] I am interested to know the early dropout rate of new teachers. For every 100, how many are still there after one, two, three, four, five years of service? There may be a difference between primary and secondary education, and that is also of importance.

[4.50 pm]

Mr M. McGOWAN: Good question! The member for Churchlands has been asking some very good questions on notice!

Dr E. CONSTABLE: I thank the minister. A gold star and an elephant stamp, I think!

Mr M. McGOWAN: The member either has a very good research officer, or she is doing the work herself. They are very good questions!

Dr E. CONSTABLE: Excuse me?

Mr M. McGOWAN: I said they are very good questions!

Dr E. CONSTABLE: They are all my own work, I promise!

Mr M. McGOWAN: They are great!

The CHAIRMAN: I think the minister has been misunderstood.

Mr M. McGOWAN: I said the member either has a very good research officer, or she is very good at asking questions.

Dr E. CONSTABLE: I do it all myself.

Mr M. McGOWAN: I fail to see why that is offensive.

Dr E. CONSTABLE: I have a very good research officer, but these are all my own work!

Mr M. McGOWAN: That is great!

Dr E. CONSTABLE: Now that we have cleared that up, may I have an answer?

Subject: Division 50: Education and Training, $2 994 278 000 – [Legislative Assembly – Estimates Committee]

Date: 24 May 2007

Hansard reference: pp. 494b – 536a [online]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

