Skip to content

more toilet humour

28 June, 2007
by

Dr S.C. THOMAS: […] There is a lot of money in the budget for upgrading power infrastructure, for example, but the budget papers provide no idea where it will be provided. The line items are all hidden away somewhere and are very difficult to discover. Those issues require other questions. It might be a question for the minister for education and toilets, for example! Toilets in schools was a very topical subject during the estimates hearings. It is very difficult to find out exactly where that funding is going, even though funding is allocated within the budget. It would make my life a lot easier if, as the member for Avon suggested, it could be broken down in a timely and efficient manner. That is a fair ask.

Mr M. McGowan: Would you like a toilet?

Dr S.C. THOMAS: I am sure that every member here could claim to know of toilets in a school in their electorate that need upgrading. That is certainly the case in my electorate, and no doubt it is the same in every electorate in the state. I would be surprised if anyone said no.

Mr M. McGowan: You have a very effluent electorate don’t you?

Several members interjected.

Dr S.C. THOMAS: That was almost funny.

Ms S.E. Walker: I thought it was fairly crappy, myself!

Dr S.C. THOMAS: I might sit down before the jokes get worse. I believe that need to sit down is called the mercy rule. I think we need to stop immediately before it goes further down.

Mr T. Buswell: You are flushed with enthusiasm, aren’t you?

Dr S.C. THOMAS: I cannot go on. Let me finish by saying that the budget provided some things for my area in the south west. It provided a little for the environment, but not sufficient amounts. The government must be held to account over the next year for how that money will be expended.

The ACTING SPEAKER (Mr A.P. O’Gorman): Is this your wash-up?

Dr S.C. THOMAS: I hope the Hansard reporter did not hear that because it was probably the worst joke of the evening so far. It would be rather unfortunate if I had to move to dissent from the Acting Speaker’s joke!

Subject: Appropriation (Consolidated Account) Bill (no. 1) 2007 [Legislative Assembly – Third Reading]

Date: 12 June 2007

Hansard reference: pp. 2802b – 2809a [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

