Skip to content

back at the house, a bottle is found

24 October, 2008
by

Mr JOHNSON (Gregory—NPA) (12.10 pm): […] In my time in the bush, pubs opened at 10 am and closed at 10 pm. If you could not get your fill by 10 pm, you were not a very good drinker. On the other side of the equation, we are now seeing people drinking premixed drinks. The Prime Minister had a knee-jerk reaction to ready-mixed cans and drinks. I talked to my daughter about them. She has a hotel at Jundah. She told me that a carton of those things now costs $99 at her pub. Who is going to pay $99 for a carton of these drinks or $8.25 for one across the bar? You can buy a bottle of rum for 30-odd bucks, buy half a dozen cans of Coke and take them home and have a fair old bender. I know I could!

Mr Hoolihan: You’re a cheap drunk!

Mr JOHNSON: I am not a cheap drunk; I know how to drink responsibly. That is more than what I have heard about the member for Keppel in the past. I know a bit about his track record. He does not know anything about mine at all. But I know he was a fun-loving boy and so was I. He also came from a family who taught him how to manage alcohol responsibly, as did mine.

Subject: Liquour and Other Acts Amendment Bill [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 10 September 2008

Hansard reference: pp. 2632 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

