Skip to content

keeping it brief

3 December, 2008
by

MR P. PAPALIA (Warnbro) [8.37 pm]: Let me preface my Address-in-Reply speech by making two observations: firstly, I am aware of the time and I intend to keep the house only a very short period of time.

Mr D.A. Templeman: Hear, hear! The best decision you have made in a long time!

Mr B.S. Wyatt: Sit down and save us some time!

Mr P. PAPALIA: Not that short! Secondly, I echo the sentiment already noted in some of the new members’ inaugural speeches that we live in uncertain times. Only a couple of months ago, I would, probably in a fairly self-righteous tone of voice, share with my friends and family my observation that Western Australia really needed a good strong robust opposition: sadly, I think I have my wish!

[… [several pages later]…]

[Member’s time extended.]

The ACTING SPEAKER (Mr P.B. Watson): Member, this is the longest short speech I have heard in eight years!

Mr P. PAPALIA: I will not go on for much longer.

Subject: Address-in-Reply [Legislative Assembly – Motion/Address in Reply]

Date: 25 November 2008

Hansard reference: pp. 425c – 444a [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

