Skip to content

imperial

16 December, 2008
by

Mr C.J. BARNETT: […] I encourage members on both sides of the house to look at the rock art when they visit the Burrup Peninsula and the Karratha region. One has only to drive probably 10 kilometres from the airport and walk down the side of the Pistol Ranges, and there they are. It is worth going there to look at the area. It is special and unique.

Mr E.S. Ripper interjected.

The SPEAKER: Leader of the Opposition!

Mr E.S. Ripper: The emperor doesn’t take interjections.

Mr C.J. BARNETT: Is the Leader of the Opposition all right? Has he calmed down?

Mr E.S. Ripper: Are you going to respond?

Mr C.J. BARNETT: I am answering the question from the member for North West.

Withdrawal of Remark

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: The Leader of the Opposition referred to the Premier as the emperor. That is not his title, and it has never been allowed in this house. He should refer to him by either his title or his electorate. He would normally be referred to by his title in this house.

The SPEAKER: If the Leader of the Opposition referred to the Premier using that terminology, I ask him to withdraw it. I did not hear the comment made.

Mr E.S. RIPPER: Mr Speaker, for your information, I said that the emperor does not take interjections. If you require me to withdraw that, of course I will.

The SPEAKER: If you made that comment, I ask you to withdraw it.

Mr E.S. RIPPER: I withdraw.

Ms A.J.G. MacTiernan: See him smiling. He loves that title!

Questions without Notice Resumed

Mr C.J. BARNETT: If I were an emperor, I would pray that the member for Armadale was not one of my subjects!

Subject: Burrup Peninsula – Development [Legislative Assembly – Questions Without Notice]

Date: 11 December 2008

Hansard reference: pp. 1097c – 1099a [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

