Skip to content

and it’s surely to their credit

12 February, 2009
by

Mr P.B. WATSON: […] Albany held the highland games this year. All people in Albany are active in trying to get people to visit Albany. It was great to see all those men in skirts!

The Albany Light Opera and Theatre Company put on a production of HMS Pinafore. I was very impressed by it.

Mr T.K. Waldron: I was in HMS Pinafore once – as a girl.

Mr P.B. WATSON: I can understand that.

Mr D.A. Templeman: As a mermaid?

Mr P.B. WATSON: Now, now; I am talking seriously here.

[…]

I went down to the senior citizens centre the other day when Lotterywest provided a reclining chair for podiatry patients. A concert is put on every three weeks for seniors around town, and they have singing on Monday. I have been invited along next Monday to sing with the girls. I am sure it will be a highlight in everyone’s life! If they can get a tape recording for those who cannot be there, I will bring it up to Parliament and lay it on the Table of the House.

Mr D.A. Templeman: What will you sing?

Mr P.B. WATSON: I do not know yet, but I am sure it will be great.

Mr D.A. Templeman interjected.

Mr P.B. WATSON: The over-50s.

Dr E. Constable: What about a preview now?

Mr P.B. WATSON: I think I would get thrown out.

Dr E. Constable: Others have done it.

Mr P.B. WATSON: If I could have another five minutes, I would.

Dr E. Constable: Hon Ernie Bridge sang in here once.

Mr P.B. WATSON: I can yodel but I do not want to put anyone to sleep.

Subject: Appropriation (Consolidated Fund) Bill (no. 1) 2004 / Appropriation (Consolidated Fund) Bill (no. 2) 2004 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading — Cognate Debate]

Date: 12 May 2004

Hansard reference: pp. 2802b – 2843a [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

