Skip to content

too cool to fool

18 February, 2009
by

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: The minister should tell Stateline that he is happy to appear on the program with me. I am more than happy to take that opportunity.

Mr J.B. D’Orazio: I’m happy to have the debate here as well.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: I am happy to have it. The minister will get it next Wednesday, as long as I can get my private member’s motion up. However, I will need a fair bit of –

Mr J.B. D’Orazio: Thank you for the opportunity to give you a pasting.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: Oh dear! Did he say he was going to give me a pasting? That would be an absolute first. I think the minister is still trying to get over the last Stateline program. As a slight diversion, Mr Acting Speaker, when I got home that night my wife said to me, “How did you get on?”

The ACTING SPEAKER: She obviously did not watch it.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: No, she watched it afterwards. It was prerecorded. I said, “I’m not too sure. I think he rabbited on too much. He seemed to want to keep taking up the time, so I didn’t get an opportunity to say very much.” Then we watched Stateline. Afterwards she said, “You must be joking. You said far more than he did. You had him on toast.” Within 20 seconds of that program being shown, all my phones started to ring – my mobile phone and my two landlines. People were on call waiting. They said, “Poor old John”, meaning the minister.

Mr J.B. D’Orazio: What’s it like to be such a celebrity?

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: I know. We have to live with it, I suppose. If a person has got it, he flaunts it. However, I am very humble.

Mr J.B. D’Orazio: They reckon your tie was a good colour.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: One of the drivers that I had the other night said that. Anyway, I am not here to talk about ties.

The ACTING SPEAKER: I am not sure what the member is here to talk about.

Subject: Machinery of Government (Miscellaneous Amendments) Bill 2005 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 18 August 2005

Hansard reference: pp. 4285b – 4297a [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

