Skip to content

this is motion towards, isn’t it, boy?

14 May, 2009
by

Mr J.N. HYDE: […] Today’s intelligent voters, as well as the elected representatives who attended the seminar on Monday to try to get some information about amalgamations, want details. People are not empty vessels. My Latin escapes me at the moment, member for Armadale. The Latin term for empty vessel is —

Mr M.P. Whitely: Troyis buswellis!

Mr J.N. HYDE: No, that is for upholstery! The member for Mandurah did Latin for six years. What is the Latin term for empty vessel?

Mr D.A. Templeman: Latin was not my strength.

Mr M.P. Whitely: Compostas tumbler?

Mr J.N. HYDE: Compostas tumbler. I have always said that we have too many lawyers in Parliament.

Ms A.J.G. MacTiernan interjected.

The ACTING SPEAKER: Order, member for Armadale!

Mr J.N. HYDE: All the lawyers are scurrying away. I will probably wake up at 4.00 am and phone the member for Mandurah and the member for Armadale when I remember my Latin.

The ACTING SPEAKER (Mr P.B. Watson): I am sure that the member for Perth also will not ask questions of members who are not in the chamber.

Mr J.N. HYDE: No, I will not, Mr Acting Speaker. I hope I am giving you the respect that you deserve.

Subject: Local Government Amendment (Elections) Bill 2009 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 5 May 2009

Hansard reference: p. 3332 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

