Skip to content

cheesed off

22 May, 2009
by

MR R.F. JOHNSON (Hillarys — Leader of the House) [4.02 pm]: Mr Acting Speaker, we have a motion
before the house. We are not actually taking the vote yet. The motion put by the manager of opposition business is to suspend standing orders to enable the conclusion of the matter of public interest that has been debated in the Parliament. I just want to say on behalf of the government that we want to be reasonable about this. I am being accused of being a real softie.

Mr C.J. Barnett: Yes, you are!

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: Yes, but at the end of the day, we have no wish to obstruct genuine business that the opposition might want to bring forward.

Ms A.J.G. MacTiernan: We will give you a nice big block of cheese!

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: Does the member want me to oppose this? I would keep the member for Armadale quiet for a while if I were sitting opposite, because she is not in my best books today!

Several members interjected.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: I would never refer to the member for Armadale in the same terms as she has referred to me today. That is a fact. I would like to think it was done in jest, but I do not know that it was.

Ms A.J.G. MacTiernan interjected.

The ACTING SPEAKER: Order, member for Armadale! I ask the Leader of the House to confine his
comments to the motion to suspend standing orders.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: Mr Acting Speaker, I would be delighted to do that. It is just that I get so distracted by certain members opposite. In an act of cooperation, the government will support the suspension of standing orders so that we can conclude the matter of public interest before the Parliament today. I am a softie!

Subject: Standing Orders Suspension [Legislative Assembly – Motion]

Date: 13 May 2009

Hansard reference: p. 3954 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

