Skip to content

moving on

27 May, 2009
by

Hon BRUCE DONALDSON: […] I want to read something else by way of explanation of this myth that has developed around me and travel. It seems to expand and grow; someone says something, and—

Hon Ken Travers: It just takes off!

Hon BRUCE DONALDSON: It does, that is right! Just because my mobile phone number has the numbers 747 in the middle does not mean a thing; Telstra was not playing around!

Hon Robyn McSweeney: It’ll probably go up to 380 when you retire!

Hon BRUCE DONALDSON: Someone suggested something like an A380, but I could not find a car of that make!

[…] Then along came some of the committees I became involved with, and it just seemed that they needed to travel internationally! It seemed that they had not travelled for a long time, and it was felt that travel could provide some good input. The first attempt we made was knocked back; that was for the Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation, and the Premier was not very happy. The Clerk at the time was the late Laurie Marquet, and he said to me, “Bruce, you’ve got to be accountable. Put a report in to the house and get approval to travel.” It was an eight-person committee, and it was agreed that either we all went or no-one went. We put the report in, and the house actually approved our travel. We went to the United States, the United Kingdom and France. We were looking at common law and civil law.

Hon Jon Ford: Are you trying to put this myth to rest?

Hon BRUCE DONALDSON: I was trying to put it to rest!

Hon Jon Ford: It’s not working!

Hon BRUCE DONALDSON: I thought I had better be upfront! If I kept going, I would kill myself, do not
worry! I am not going to bury myself!

Subject: Legislative Council – Retiring Members [Legislative Council – Valedictory Remarks – Motion]

Date: 20 May 2009

Hansard reference: pp. 4257-4258 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

