Skip to content

probably a relief for all concerned

28 August, 2009
by

Mr R.F. JOHNSON replied: I thank the member for Southern River for his question and for his genuine interest in road safety and matters related to hoons.

Ms M.M. Quirk: That is why he spoke on the second reading!

The SPEAKER: Order, member for Girrawheen!

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: The member for Girrawheen is interjecting on me, so I will come to her first. I was very interested this morning to hear the member for Girrawheen’s comments on the hoon legislation when she said that my comments had made her blood pressure rise.

Several members interjected.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: She was talking to Simon Beaumont on 6PR and went on to say that she thought I was very, very cute. I am flattered, member for Girrawheen, but to quote a famous book, I am just not that into you!

Ms A.J.G. MacTiernan: Do you realise what a mob of misogynists you are? It comes out all the time. You can’t help it.

The SPEAKER: I ask the minister to take his seat. I do not know that the sort of interjection from the member for Armadale was absolutely necessary and I call her to order formally for the first time.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: The point I was trying to make is the simple fact that the member for Girrawheen was misleading the listeners of 6PR.

Ms A.J.G. MacTiernan: No; you are a misogynist, as are half the members on that side!

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: If I expressed what I thought about the member for Armadale, I would probably be excluded from this chamber. I have never in my life met a woman like her. I have got to say that.

Subject: Road Traffic Amendment (Hoons) Bill 2009 – Benefits [Legislative Assembly – Questions Without Notice]

Date: 12 August 2009

Hansard reference: pp. 5809 – 5810 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

