Skip to content

and in every home

22 October, 2009
by

Mr D.A. TEMPLEMAN: […] Madam Acting Speaker may be very puzzled as to where I am going with this, and so am I! My contribution relates to the word “substantially” in the amendment. It used to be that if a person attended licensed premises, he or she had to have a substantial meal. I remember there was a definition of what comprised a substantial meal. I remember there was always a debate about whether a bowl of chips actually comprised a substantial meal; yes, it does if it has got a dollop of sour cream and chilli added to it!

I will return to the amendment, which includes the words “substantially renovated”. I am not sure there is a
definition of what constitutes a substantial renovation. Is it an alteration to 50 per cent of the house, 25 per cent of the house or 30 per cent of the house? I am interested to hear the Treasurer’s response about what is considered to be a substantial renovation, just as a substantial meal in licensed premises had to be defined. Some would say I am making a meal of this contribution!

Mr R.F. Johnson: But it’s the way the meal is presented!

Mr D.A. TEMPLEMAN: Quite likely! I am interested in the Treasurer’s response to my very, very important query when he has an opportunity to rise!

Subject: First Home Owner Grant Amendment Bill 2009 [Legislative Assembly – Consideration in Detail]

Date: 24 September 2009

Hansard reference: p. 7685 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

