Skip to content

down to the bottom of the sea

24 December, 2009
by

Mr B.S. WYATT: […] Next time I am in Busselton, I will go and view the Ironman Western
Australia Triathlon Busselton—and I say “view”; I will not be participating. It is 5 December, is it not?

Dr G.G. Jacobs: You’re not going in it?

Mr B.S. WYATT: No; is the minister? Is his wife going to?

Dr G.G. Jacobs: No; I have a couple of sons who might.

Mr B.S. WYATT: That is impressive nevertheless.

Mr T.R. Buswell: If you want to get involved as a volunteer, I’ll sort it out for you.

Mr B.S. WYATT: I think I will just go as a spectator; that is probably as keen as I get when it comes to the Ironman competition.

Mr T.R. Buswell: There are 1 400 competitors.

Mr B.S. WYATT: It is one of the most significant international Ironman competitions, and I am not sure that all Western Australians appreciate its significance and the significance of the Busselton Half Ironman Triathlon in May.

Mr P. Papalia interjected.

Mr B.S. WYATT: I would like to make some critical comments about the member not participating, but I am not participating in either event!

Mr T.R. Buswell: I’m hoping to run one leg in the Half Ironman.

Mr B.S. WYATT: That is 21 kilometres—not unrealistic. I am having a crack at the Left Bank Triathlon this weekend. Perhaps the Treasurer could join me! No?

Mr T.R. Buswell: A middy in the front bar and a schooner in the back bar! That’s a swim-through!

Mr B.S. WYATT: Swimming is my strength! We have been sidetracked. I am getting more interjections from my own side than from the other side!

Subject: National Environment Protection Council (Western Australia) Amendment Bill 2009 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 26 November 2009

Hansard reference: pp. 10015 – 10016 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

