Skip to content

dress up in you (part one)

14 January, 2010
by

Mr P.B. WATSON: […] Western Australia has had some really good police ministers, including Michelle Roberts, John Kobelke and Kevin Prince, a former member for Albany, who was a very good police minister. The present minister is a joke. When he stands in here, he is seen as a joke by the chamber. From what I have heard from the police in my district, there is not much respect from them.

Mr J.R. Quigley: No-one’s listening to Lord Haw-Haw.

Mr P.B. WATSON: There are a lot of good coppers.

Withdrawal of Remark

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: Once again, the member for Mindarie has insulted me by using unparliamentarily
language. He has adversely reflected on me and my character by referring to me as Lord Haw-Haw. He knows
who Lord Haw-Haw was, because he is very much like him.

Mr T.G. Stephens interjected.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: Why does not the member keep quiet and go back to the Pilbara?

The ACTING SPEAKER (Mrs L.M. Harvey): Member for Pilbara, I am taking a point of order.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: Once again, Madam Acting Speaker, he has adversely reflected on me as a member of Parliament and I ask that he be made to withdraw.

Mr M. McGOWAN: I do not think that referring to the member for Hillarys as Lord Haw-Haw is
unparliamentary. As part of his point of order, the member for Hillarys referred to the member for Mindarie as
Lord Haw-Haw, so I call upon him to withdraw, if the member for Mindarie has to withdraw.

The ACTING SPEAKER: I request that all members stop calling each other Lord Haw-Haw until I find out what that means.

Subject: Criminal Investigation Amendment Bill 2009 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 11 November 2009

Hansard reference: pp. 8830 – 8831 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

