Skip to content

your secrets

21 January, 2010
by

Dr K.D. HAMES: […] I said to the person from the hospital with whom I discussed these matters that, following any suggestion of some CCC review and detailed investigation, and particularly as Dixie Marshall was very unhappy with what was being done, the person was on a hiding to nothing and that it was not worth the person following the matter up to the extent that has been suggested today by the member for Kwinana. If it is an issue to do with patient confidentiality and details, it would be reasonable to undertake some sort of review, but I do not think that a major review or a detailed witch-hunt is necessary. My suggestion was that the person should do the necessary job, but not make a big deal out of it.

Mr R.H. Cook: Has it been to the CCC?

Dr K.D. HAMES: I do not know whether it has been to the CCC. When did Dixie send that thing out? Last week? The member must have received it; it was copied to him just as it was copied to me.

Mr C.J. Barnett interjected.

Dr K.D. HAMES: Sorry; the Premier is right. I am not to know, in effect, whether it has gone to the CCC or not. I had forgotten that that was the case with anything referred to the CCC.

Ms A.J.G. MacTiernan: You’d forgotten what you’re not supposed to know!

Dr K.D. HAMES: The reality is I do not know whether it has, which is good, because I am not supposed to know whether it has! That settles the question!

The SPEAKER: I know nothing!

Subject: Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital – Morbidity and Mortality Rates – Leaked Documents [Legislative Assembly – Questions Without Notice]

Date: 18 November 2009

Hansard reference: pp. 9281 – 9282 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

