Skip to content

the state i am in

27 January, 2010
by

Hon LJILJANNA RAVLICH: […] It [the Liberal Party policy] goes on and says —
With a growing population and increasing crime rates, more police are needed throughout the state.
Western Australia needs more police on their feet, in the street.

I had to have another quiet chuckle there, because they have had theirs cars taken away from them; they have had their motorbikes taken away from them, and their mobile phones taken from them so, of course, they are going to be walking up and down the street “on their feet”. This must have been a real brainwave by some Liberal think tank

Hon Simon O’Brien: What do you want them walking on—their knuckles, like you?

Withdrawal of Remark

Hon LJILJANNA RAVLICH: That is unparliamentary and I would like the member to withdraw.

Hon Simon O’Brien: Withdraw what?

Hon LJILJANNA RAVLICH: That. Come on; stand and withdraw it!

THE DEPUTY PRESIDENT (Hon Michael Mischin): Are you requiring the member to withdraw that
remark?

Hon LJILJANNA RAVLICH: Yes, I am, because he implied that I was a Neanderthal woman, and I do not like that, and I think he should withdraw it.

Hon SIMON O’BRIEN: Mr Deputy President, I said no such thing. I did not imply that the honourable member was a Neanderthal woman. I have nothing against Neanderthal women. I have never met one, and I certainly would not presume to compare my good friend opposite with one in case it caused some offence in some quarter. But if she is upset about anything that I have said, then, of course, I withdraw, because she is such a sensitive creature.

Hon LJILJANNA RAVLICH: Thanks for that, and I accept the apology.

Subject: Police Amendment Bill 2009 [Legislative Council – Second Reading]

Date: 24 November 2009

Hansard reference: pp. 9569 – 9570 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

