Skip to content

the stars of track and field

5 February, 2010
by

Mr M. McGOWAN: […] During question time, the Minister for Police referred to types of weapons; I am sure he will wave some of them about shortly! Mr Speaker, your indulgence in that regard was perhaps the only blemish on your time in the chair, by allowing the member for Hillarys to bring dangerous weapons into this place! We will know within an hour whether it was a good or bad decision. It brings to mind the fact that the government and opposition are separated by only two and a half sword lengths; the only problem is that I do not have a sword! I suppose we are all at the mercy of the Minister for Police because of the weapons he has in his possession at the moment, although I suspect that most of us would be faster than he is and would probably escape!

Mr R.F. Johnson: I wouldn’t bet on it!

Mr M. McGOWAN: I am pretty sure I could get to the mace before the minister could get to me!

Subject: Acts Amendment (Weapons) Bill 2009 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 11 November 2009

Hansard reference: p. 8796 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

