Skip to content

the great intoxication

19 March, 2010
by

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: […] The Premier is sitting in the chamber with no work to do. That is very impressive. We are always very interested to see how hard the Premier works. At least he has come in here sober. I am very pleased that the Premier is sober in the chamber. The last time we had this conversation, I was not quite sure what his sobriety was.

Withdrawal of Remark

The ACTING SPEAKER (Mr J.M. Francis): Order! I do not need a member to raise a point of order to ask the member to withdraw that imputation.

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: I made no imputation against the Premier.

The ACTING SPEAKER: Member for Cannington, I heard it very clearly and I ask you to withdraw the imputation.

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: I made no imputation. I cannot withdraw what I have not said.

The ACTING SPEAKER: I instruct you to withdraw what you said.

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: If you can tell me the words that I need to withdraw, I will withdraw them.

The ACTING SPEAKER: You implied that the Premier comes in here in a non-sober state.

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: I did not.

The ACTING SPEAKER: It was black and white, member for Cannington, and I am instructing you to withdraw your comment.

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: If the Premier —

The ACTING SPEAKER: No ifs or buts, member for Cannington! I am instructing you to withdraw the comment.

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: I cannot withdraw what I have not said, but I am happy to withdraw any statement that I made that the Premier was drunk.

Mr C.J. Barnett: Well, do it. Withdraw.

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: I have done it.

The ACTING SPEAKER: Continue.

Debate Resumed

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: I am very pleased that the Premier is here sober today. It is very good that he did that.

The ACTING SPEAKER: I call you for the first time for repeating that comment. That is your second time today. Do you want to continue down this line?

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: I am happy to continue to make my remarks if the Premier wants to be disorderly.

The ACTING SPEAKER: I have just called you for the second time. I ask you to continue and to not make that implication again.

Mr W.J. JOHNSTON: I would appreciate it if you would direct the Premier to be orderly in the chamber, Mr Acting Speaker. I am not prepared to have the Premier come in here and bully me in the same way he bullies the member for West Swan.

Subject: Treasurer’s Advance Authorisation Bill 2010 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 11 March 2010

Hansard reference: pp. 655 – 656 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

