Skip to content

struck dumb

14 May, 2010
by

Mr M. McGOWAN: As the person who moved this amendment, I have been spellbound by the quality of debate.

Mr M.J. Cowper: Dumbfounded or spellbound?

Mr M. McGOWAN: Dumbfounded! I have been dumbfounded; although it is a temporary condition for me, member for Murray–Wellington! I have been dumbfounded, temporarily.

Mr M.J. Cowper: I could debate that point!

Mr M. McGOWAN: […] I am pleased that once again I am at the vanguard of protecting Western Australian ratepayers from what has the potential to be a pernicious assault upon their hard-earned cash. I am pleased that since question time the realisation has come to me like a thunderbolt that these matters are of such significance. I realise that with the sanguine manner in which I dealt with the minister’s explanations before question time, I was misguided. I was seduced by his dulcet tones and the hypnotic way in which the minister weaves his magic in this place. I was hypnotised.

Mr B.S. Wyatt: He would have been a very good dentist.

Mr M. McGOWAN: I do have a sore tooth, if the minister would like to look at it.

Mr J.H.D. Day: If you trust me with it, that is good.

Mr M. McGOWAN: Actually, no, I do not.

Mr J.H.D. Day: I am sure that we can come to some understanding about mutually reducing the pain involved.

Mr M. McGOWAN: I am sure the minister is enjoying my address.

I will no longer be seduced, hypnotised or dumbfounded by the minister’s arguments. From this point forward I promise the minister that we will be scrutinising every provision of this bill to the extent that it deserves.

Subject: Approvals and Related Reforms (No. 4) (Planning) Bill 2009 [Legislative Assembly – Consideration in Detail]

Date: 6 May 2010

Hansard reference: p. 2648 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

