Skip to content

isn’t it nice?

16 June, 2010
by

MRS C.A. MARTIN: […] Real houses would be nice. We have lots of wet-season shelters out in remote Aboriginal communities. How about some houses? That would be nice!

Mr J.E. McGrath: You’ll get a road to James Price Point.

Mr J.J.M. Bowler interjected.

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: Yes, but we cannot take our tourists out there, and then what will we do about all that construction work? Where is it in the budget? It is not there! Anyway, not that I am complaining—am I complaining? No; I am the soul of generosity today. How is that?

Mr D.A. Templeman: That’s a change!

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: Anyway, members can notice that I am not flicking my hair and carrying on or anything; I am just, very gently, changing my style!

Mr J.E. McGrath: You’re in a good zone!

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: I have had counselling. Remember all that aggression? It is not here any more! It all works, truly. I have to say “Om”, and it is out with the bad and in with the good. Has the Minister for Police ever heard about that?

Mr R.F. Johnson: Yes.

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: The minister should try it; it is good fun!

Mr R.F. Johnson: I do it every day!

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: Has the Minister for Police noticed how nice I have been today?

Mr R.F. Johnson: Yes; you’ve been extremely nice!

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: That is what I thought.

Mr R.F. Johnson: You’re not going to change, are you?

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: I will raise the subject of Aboriginal housing because it needs to be on the public record.

Mr D.A. Templeman: The Minister for Housing is in this place.

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: Yes; and he is a very nice man.

Mr J.E. McGrath: He is a nice man.

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: They are all very nice people, although they do not know what happens in the country.

Mr W.R. Marmion: I lived in Derby.

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: The minister was up in Derby for a little while; was he in preschool there or something?

Mr R.F. Johnson: He’s a Derby boy!

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: I do not know about these young people!

Subject: Appropriation (Consolidated Account) Recurrent 2010-11 Bill 2010 / Appropriation (Consolidated Account) Capital 2010-11 Bill 2010 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading — Cognate Debate]

Date: 25 May 2010

Hansard reference: p. 3287 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

