Skip to content

poor old soul

29 August, 2011
by

This week will see the final material from April 2011 as we can continue to make our way through the first half of 2011’s Hansard, covering all the interesting or weird discussions taking place during the blog’s hiatus. The focus so far has been on the Western Australian parliament, but all going well future posts will also return to Queensland and beyond. With five years of H+M coming up in November, we’re also rethinking how best to present the quotes and manage the archives – more on that later…

Coincidentally, the exchange from the WA Legislative Council featured here last Friday also appeared in today’s Inside Cover in The West Australian

Hon MAX TRENORDEN: […] The point I make is that I went from the Assembly to this place following the last election. I spent nine months on the pension. Everyone in my electorate knew that I had been elected. Everyone expected me to be a member of Parliament. Everyone was on my back. I make the point that I was a member of Parliament before the writ was called and I was elected as a member of Parliament on election night, but I was unemployed for nine months.

Hon Kate Doust: Was that nine months on the parliamentary pension or the commonwealth pension?

Hon MAX TRENORDEN: I was on the parliamentary pension.

Hon Kate Doust: That would have been really difficult, I imagine.

Hon Ken Travers: I don’t think you’re going to get much sympathy on that one, Max.

Subject: Electoral and Constitution Amendment Bill 2011 [Legislative Council – Second Reading]

Date: 14 April 2011

Hansard reference: p. 3060 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

