Skip to content

in the year 2285

31 August, 2011
by

Hon NORMAN MOORE: […] The point I am trying to make is that if we look back in history, there have been very few occasions, if any, when an election was deferred. There may have been one occasion when a Kimberley election was deferred for a week
because of flooding but in my 35 years or so I cannot recall any election being deferred for any reason. I do not see the circumstances arising that Hon Ken Travers talked about—we can go through the detail during the committee stage—and I do not see the need to seek to legislate to overcome something that might happen in 2285. I expect that the member and I will still be here when that is the case. We will sort it out in 2285.

Hon Ken Travers: If not physically, in spirit I’m sure you’ll be here.

Hon NORMAN MOORE: No way, José!

Hon Ed Dermer: Perhaps Hon Ken Travers is more foresighted than you are.

Hon NORMAN MOORE: It is interesting that Hon Ed Dermer interjects on me yet takes great exception when I interject on him.

Hon Ken Travers: The year 2285 is the year when you will have to shift the election because of Easter. The potential for exceptional circumstances may occur before that.

Hon NORMAN MOORE: I agree. I give an absolute assurance to the house that in 2285 I will make sure that the election is deferred. I will pass the necessary legislation to make it happen. That should be about halfway through my period in office.

Subject: Electoral and Constitution Amendment Bill 2011 [Legislative Council – Second Reading]

Date: 14 April 2011

Hansard reference: p. 3611 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

