Skip to content

raise the knowledge

11 October, 2011
by

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: […] I am aware of one case in which the owner of a large rent roll now resides in the Philippines. The money that people paid as bonds, or I suspect a little less of it, also resides in the Philippines. I think those people would say that a $4 000 fine when paid across in—what is the currency in the Philippines?

Mr I.C. Blayney: Peso.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: I thank the member for Geraldton; he is a renowned dealer in foreign currencies.

I do not think the people who lost that money would view a $20 000 fine as being too steep.

Mr M. McGowan: What is the largest island in the Philippines?

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: Now, it is that big one.

Mr M. McGowan: Mindanao.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: Is it Luzon?

Mr M. McGowan: Oh, no; it is Luzon. Mindanao is the second largest island.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: The member for Rockingham has got us off track. I do not know whether it is Luzon. I only remember two—Mindanao and Luzon. Is that where the bases were?

The ACTING SPEAKER (Mr J.M. Francis): I am sorry, minister; I cannot help you with this debate. I would love to.

Mr M. McGowan: What is the capital of the Philippines?

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: The thriller was in Manila and the rumble was in the jungle! Anything else?

Mr M. McGowan: What was the name of the last Japanese soldier who emerged from the jungle in 1974?

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: I will have to take that one on notice. Arigatou gozaimasu; thank you!

I do not think the $20 000 penalty is a big issue.

Mr M. McGowan: I think his name was Lieutenant Ondiki.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: It could be.

Mr P. Papalia: It does ring a bell.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: It does ring a bell to me. I will get my people onto that promptly.

Ms J.M. Freeman: By way of interjection, minister, it is a maximum as well.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: Yes. I am very comfortable with it. I thank the member for Nollamara for dragging us back to the bill; it was about to become a battle of attrition in terms of general knowledge.

Mr M. McGowan: Which island was he on?

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: Not the big one. I must admit that my recounting of bizarre facts has diminished somewhat over time.

Ms J.M. Freeman: Just not the doing of bizarre acts!

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: We all have our moments.

Ms R. Saffioti: If it has diminished over time, I would hate to have seen you 20 years ago!

Subject: Residential Tenancies Amendment Bill 2011 [Legislative Assembly – Consideration in Detail]

Date: 1 September 2011

Hansard reference: p. 6637 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

