Skip to content

knives out

11 November, 2011
by

MR D.A. TEMPLEMAN (Mandurah) [4.52 pm]: […] Some members of this place may know that I have a recent addition to my family, a son. I now have four children aged under four years.

Mr M.P. Whitely: You should be sterilised!

Mr D.A. TEMPLEMAN: I am coming to that.

Mr B.S. Wyatt: And microchipped!

Mr D.A. TEMPLEMAN: I think I might already be microchipped, because every step I take, my wife seems to know where I am!

Mr J.M. Francis: Has she got a GPS tracker?

Mr D.A. TEMPLEMAN: I think she has.

I sat down next to a lovely elderly lady, and she knew I had had a recent addition to the family. She said, “What are you talking about today in Parliament? What is on the agenda?” I said, “Well, I am missing question time, but after that we are talking about the Cat Bill.” That was interesting because that set off this lovely lady. She said two things to me. She said, “I think that all cats should be sterilised and mine are”, and then she looked at me and said, “You should be sterilised too after all these children you’ve had!” So I quickly beat a hasty retreat from that table because she was looking a bit fierce with her butter knife in her hand, clenching her cutlery in excitement.

Subject: Cat Bill 2011 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 20 September 2011

Hansard reference: pp. 7277-7278 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

