Skip to content

turbo mouse

25 November, 2011
by

Mr R.H. COOK: […] As I said, I am a cat owner and a cat lover. I have owned a dog in the past. That was not a wholly unpleasant experience. They are ridiculous animals really. They are sycophants, constantly wanting attention and, quite frankly, a burden for the domestic household. Cats, however, are wonderful, independent creatures that are quite capable of looking after themselves.

Mr M.P. Whitely: They eat birds.

Mr R.H. COOK: They do not need to come to their owners constantly seeking reinforcement and company. As the member for Bassendean points out, they can kill birds and a range of other creatures. I am sure that the member for Bassendean is trying to suggest that we have to regulate the ownership and administration of cats. I agree with him.

Mr A.J. Waddell: What about the mice?

Mr R.H. COOK: I have owned mice in the past. It was a wholly disastrous experience. I thought that mice would be happier if the male mice were in the same cage as the female mice. Some weeks later my father
explained to me the merits of mice population control. He proposed a number of measures that I could take to achieve that outcome. Mercifully, my older sister intervened and managed to find a pet shop owner who would take them off my hands, but it was a disastrous experience.

Dr M.D. Nahan: What did the pet shop owner do with them?

Mr C.J. Barnett: Fed them to the cats!

Mr R.H. COOK: I was told that they went to very happy families. I am sure that was the case. My sister would not have suggested that anything untoward would happen to my poor pet mice, all 50 of them that were breeding at a rate of knots at the time.

Subject: Cat Bill 2011 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 20 September 2011

Hansard reference: pp. 7273-7274 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

