Skip to content

moving clocks run slow

9 February, 2012
by

HON PAUL LLEWELLYN (South West) [11.19 am]: I move –
That this house calls on the Western Australian government to introduce a state-based comprehensive gross feed-in tariff for renewable energy technologies.
[…]
In fact, it takes between just three and six months for a wind turbine to pay for its entire embodied energy. For the subsequent 24.5 years it is a free-energy machine. That is a very salient point. Are we going to continue? Is it 6.00 pm?

Hon Peter Collier: Today you have 30 minutes, but you can talk for as long as you like.

Hon PAUL LLEWELLYN: I can speak for an eternity, apparently, but I do not intend to do that. I do not want to bore the house with these minor details. However, I will go back to that salient point. It takes between just three and six months for a wind energy turbine to pay for the entire embodied energy that it takes to build the machine. For the next 24.5 years it is a free-energy machine. Someone who buys a Rolls-Royce or a Mercedes Benz would rebuild the bearings and run it for another 25 years. I have just realised that I was misreading the clock. Heaven forbid! I must have been getting carried away.

Hon Simon O’Brien: It’s the blooming daylight saving that does that to you!

Hon PAUL LLEWELLYN: I do not know who voted for daylight saving! It feels like six o’clock at night to me. My stomach is telling me it is six o’clock at night but it is only midday. I have to finish this story and I want to tell members more about it.

The PRESIDENT: Perhaps if Hon Paul Llewellyn will continue to tell us his story because I am beginning to feel as if it is about 10 o’clock at night!

Hon PAUL LLEWELLYN: I might have put myself to sleep, as a matter of fact!

Hon Ed Dermer: How will Hansard spell the snoring?

Hon PAUL LLEWELLYN: I am so accustomed to being stopped at the crucial moment that I was waiting for members to stop me.

Hon Helen Morton: You will be stopped if you don’t get on with it.

Hon PAUL LLEWELLYN: Take it easy!

Subject: Renewable Energy Technologies – Gross Feed-In Tariff [Legislative Council – Motion]

Date: 12 March 2009

Hansard reference: p. 1689, 1694 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

