Skip to content

antarctica starts here

15 February, 2012
by

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: […] One of my constituents is moving down to Albany. I am devastated because he is one of those people who comes into the office from time to time, though not just my office. He is friendly and he will have a cuppa with us. The heat has got to him. His doctor said to him that he will need to move to a colder climate. Albany is as close as one can get to the South Pole, I suppose.

Dr A.D. Buti: You might upset the Acting Speaker. Be careful.

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: No; he will love my constituent. The problem is that this fellow has air conditioning but it cannot work because there is no insulation in his roof. I thought maybe the heat had got to him. I said to Charlie that I would go with him to check it out. It is true; there is no insulation in his roof. There is this silver buffer—I cannot remember what it is now—on the walls. It is in the roof as well but there is no insulation. When you walk into his house, the heat hits you. It is only a little place. There are no windows to let the air come through. The air conditioning does not work. It is costing him an arm and a leg and he is a pensioner. What does he have to do? He has to move to Albany.

The ACTING SPEAKER (Mr P.B. Watson): I think that is a very good move.

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: Penguins love it! I like Albany. I went there once, or was it twice? I got sick both times. I got the flu. It is very cold in summer. He told me it was summer. I believed him, but it was freezing.

The ACTING SPEAKER: You are going very close.

Mrs C.A. MARTIN: I have built that bridge. I am over it.

Subject: Premier’s Statement [Legislative Assembly – Consideration]

Date: 16 February 2011

Hansard reference: p. 472 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

