Skip to content

stereotypes

21 February, 2012
by

Mr G.M. CASTRILLI: Proposed section 49E(1)(c) states –
a characteristic that is generally imputed to persons of the race,
Can the Attorney General give me some examples of that?

Mr J.A. McGINTY: I gave a few examples earlier. I will briefly run through them. A Maori man with a tattoo –

Ms S.E. Walker: What about an Italian with tomatoes in his pockets? I said that for the member for Bunbury!

Mr J.A. McGINTY: I think that was a racial slur!

Ms S.E. Walker: I was joking!

Mr G.M. Castrilli: I’m starting to get interested in this bill now!

Mr J.A. McGINTY: I think the member for Nedlands is just asking, “Is that a tomato in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?”

Several members interjected.

The ACTING SPEAKER: Order, members! Can we return to the bill? I would like to go home.

Subject: Equal Opportunity Amendment Bill 2006 [Legislative Assembly – Consideration in Detail]

Date: 20 March 2007

Hansard reference: p. 387 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

