Skip to content

it’s only natural

9 May, 2012
by

Having missed a few days recently, here’s a bonus exchange from the consideration in detail for the Teacher Registration Bill 2011 from last week:

Clause 19: Only natural persons may be registered as teachers —

Mr D.A. TEMPLEMAN: I do not wish to be too flippant, but I am very intrigued by this clause. I can understand that this clause discounts a horse being registered as a teacher, but I am intrigued, honestly, by the definition of a natural person and why this is necessary at all.

Dr E. Constable: The member knows the answer.

Mr D.A. TEMPLEMAN: When I read this clause, the phrase jumped out at me! I have obviously been living under a mushroom because I have never seen it before. I am interested in the minister’s reaction because she is champing at the bit to give me an answer.

Dr E. CONSTABLE: When I was looking at my notes this morning, I felt that someone would get up and ask a question on this. I have an answer for the member. I will read the answer, which states that this is a standard provision, although the subject of some derision in “Inside Cover”. You never know—it might be in “Inside Cover” tomorrow, the member having raised it again. It is a standard provision, and we need to establish and make sure in the bill that a trust or a corporation cannot register as a teacher.

Clause put and passed.

Subject: Teacher Registration Bill 2011 [Legislative Assembly – Consideration in Detail]

Date: 1 May 2012

Hansard reference: p. 1849 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

