Skip to content

false start

5 October, 2012
by

MR T.R. BUSWELL (Vasse — Treasurer) [1.43 pm]: […] These issues relate to legal uncertainty over the scope of the insurance obligation in relation to employers of deemed workers under the workers’ compensation legislation and the need for a limit on the common law insurance that employers are required to hold. In view of the potential for confusion around the insurance arrangements of employers —my apologies; I have gotten lost.

Point of Clarification

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: Mr Speaker, can the Clerk attend to my left-hand side for a minute?

The SPEAKER: I am sure he can.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: Can I have the Clerk’s attention for one more second? I do apologise; it is an unusual turn of events. Mr Speaker, I seek leave to recommence my second reading speech.

The SPEAKER: If you are seeking my leave, absolutely.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: I do not need to do it at a later stage; I just need to start again. I had a false start, a bit like the jockey who broke!

The SPEAKER: Members, we are going to return to the starting barrier. I give the call to the Treasurer.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: If I could, just upon reflection, start again. Before I do, for the information of the house, I should point out that I had started reading from a second reading speech that related to a bill that had previously been before the house. My reason for stopping as I was reading it was that my somewhat dim mind was reflecting on the fact that some of the turns of phrase were sounding familiar and that the word “jockey” was somewhat absent even though I was doing the jockeys bill!

Subject: Workers’ Compensation and Injury Management Amendment (Jockeys) Bill 2012 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 26 September 2012

Hansard reference: pp. 6555-6556 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

