Skip to content

an argument with myself

8 November, 2012
by

Hon MICHAEL MISCHIN: […] In most pieces of legislation, I do not think that it is necessary to find an alternative means of adopting commonwealth legislation. In the case of issues such as changes to the family law regime and in respect of child support, there is merit in trying to find means to effect that in as expeditious a way as possible. There are a couple of options. I took myself aside and spoke to myself fully and frankly, as a member of this place and as the Attorney General. We had a great debate between ourselves as to the best way to go about the exercise! There are a couple of options that I have asked the Attorney General to instruct his staff to explore. The Attorney General, I am pleased to say, has taken up that invitation with alacrity and enthusiasm!

Hon Simon O’Brien: Finally someone has cut through the stone wall!

Hon MICHAEL MISCHIN: Once I got an appointment with the Attorney General, things went very smoothly!

Hon Simon O’Brien: He is a very busy man.

Hon MICHAEL MISCHIN: He is; but a great chap I have to say!

Hon Simon O’Brien: A terrific bloke; no doubt about it.

Hon MICHAEL MISCHIN: I would vote for him!

Hon Ed Dermer: How well do you know him?

Hon Simon O’Brien: He has not met him, obviously!

Hon MICHAEL MISCHIN: We drink together from time to time.

Hon Ed Dermer: It is important not to drink on your own!

The DEPUTY PRESIDENT (Hon Brian Ellis): Members, I think we are drifting off the subject.

Subject: Child Support (Adoption of Laws) Amendment Bill 2012 [Legislative Council – Second Reading]

Date: 23 October 2012

Hansard reference: p. 7350 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

