Skip to content

stand and deliver

28 November, 2012
by

Ms J.M. FREEMAN: […] I did hear when I was in my office the comments about the good workers at Osborne Park Hospital. I concur with that, clearly. My mother has worked at that hospital for a number of years, as have any aunt and my sister.

Mr J.C. Kobelke: Are you declaring an interest?

Ms J.M. FREEMAN: I am declaring an interest.

Dr K.D. Hames: You were all born there!

Ms J.M. FREEMAN: Yes, we were all born there. All of my mother’s children were born there, and all of my mother’s children’s children were born at Osborne Park Hospital.

Dr K.D. Hames: You were probably born there when I was delivering babies, which had I known I think I could have —

Several members interjected.

Ms J.M. FREEMAN: Just for the record, the minister indicated that he could have pushed me back! We should worry about that! Minister, if we are onto funny stories about pushing back, which we clearly are not, but we might as well tell them, when I had my son at Osborne Park Hospital, the doctor who was delivering my child happened to be the person who was running for the Liberals at the time when I was involved in student politics at the University of Western Australia and was supporting the Labor person for guild president, so that made for interesting conversations. In fact, I did not need a doctor; but onwards and upwards, let us talk about Mirrabooka.

Subject: Royal Perth Hospital Protection Bill 2008 [Legislative Assembly – Consideration in Detail]

Date: 7 November 2012

Hansard reference: p. 8115 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

