Skip to content

depressed

7 December, 2012
by

I don’t often put in a preamble of this nature, but I feel obliged to add a disclaimer for today’s post; when you rely solely on the written transcript of the Parliamentary proceedings (and can’t always access the audio-visual record), you can’t always gauge emotion or inflection from the speakers, and one person’s interpretation might be very different to the actual intentions behind the comments. Today’s exchange stood out when I was scanning the Legislative Council transcripts because of how I personally read what was said; my apologies to Hon Jon Ford if how I have interpreted this is in a completely different spirit to his remarks.

HON JON FORD (Mining and Pastoral) [5.16 pm]: […] I will tell members why I think we are dealing with the Western Australian Future Fund Bill today. It is a smokescreen. Nobody wants to talk about the state’s debt. Unfortunately, the media does not want to talk about debt, either. Mind you, I reckon by the time we finish this session of Parliament, there probably will not be any media left—there certainly will not be any journalists or print media. I think 30 Channel 9 journalists have been given the boot. I do not know how it is going to work out in the end.

Hon Simon O’Brien: Any news on The Sunday Times?

Hon JON FORD: We all live in hope.

Subject: Western Australian Future Fund Bill 2012 [Legislative Council – Second Reading]

Date: 6 November 2012

Hansard reference: p. 7794 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

