Skip to content

I no longer want my MTV

10 December, 2012
by

Found this one while perusing the archives for something on the topic du jour. From the same day as this exchange. I just don’t know.

Mr F.M. LOGAN: […] Rather than stand up for and speak on behalf of the battlers in his own area, such as people who are working in shops, people who are working in hairdressing salons and people who are tyre fitters, what did the member for Kalgoorlie do? He tried to make a 100 per cent profit on his bachelor pad in Kalgoorlie. He forgot the battlers whom he is supposed to represent. I have taken this issue up with Minister Kay Patterson. Of course, she has rejected it out of hand.

Mr M.J. Birney: How much is the rent in Cockburn?

Mr F.M. LOGAN: Mr Speaker, I love those two.

Ms J.A. Radisich: They love themselves as well!

Mr F.M. LOGAN: I love the member for Kalgoorlie and the member for Vasse. Do members know who they are? They are the Beavis and Butthead of the Liberal Party.

Mr E.S. Ripper: That’s absolutely right.

Mr F.M. LOGAN: Absolutely. Have a look at them!

Withdrawal of Remark

The SPEAKER: The minister knows what the standing orders say. He should withdraw that comment.

Mr F.M. LOGAN: I withdraw that comment.

Questions without Notice Resumed

Mr F.M. LOGAN: I will let members make up their minds who is who.

Several members interjected.

The SPEAKER: Order, members!

Mr F.M. LOGAN: I withdrew.

[…]

MR T.R. BUSWELL (Vasse – Deputy Leader of the Opposition) [2.38 pm]: I was in the process of concluding my remarks before the debate was interrupted. In concluding my remarks, I will highlight the point that I was making.

Mr E.S. Ripper: I understand that the Leader of the Opposition was referred to as Beavis.

Mr T.R. BUSWELL: That is right. I had suggested to the “member for Swanbourne” that if he wants to examine the definition of “butthead”, we will go to our party room and use the fund to which we have been contributing to buy him a mirror this Christmas, so that he truly understands the meaning of that term.

Several members interjected.

The SPEAKER: Order, members!

Subject: Rent Assistance in Regional Areas, Opposition Responses to Letter || Appropriation (Consolidated Fund) Bill (No. 3) 2005 / Appropriation (Consolidated Fund) Bill (No. 4) 2005 [Legislative Assembly – Questions Without Notice || Second Reading — Cognate Debate]

Date: 24 November 2005

Hansard reference: p. 7750 || p. 7752 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

