Skip to content

what a rush

20 December, 2012
by

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: […] I am talking about the minister getting the report in her hot and sweaty little hands. Why should she take six months to report it to Parliament?

Mrs M.H. Roberts: You can fantasise, if you like, that I am really hot and sweaty.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: Really?

Mrs M.H. Roberts: I have quite low blood pressure, so I am very rarely hot or sweaty.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: So have I, funnily enough. My doctor says that I have the blood pressure of a 20-year-old. My blood pressure is often 130 over 70. That is not bad. What does the doctor reckon?

Dr J.M. Edwards: What for?

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: For me.

Dr J.M. Edwards: I wouldn’t comment on you!

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: I am sure that my blood pressure goes up when I am dealing with the Minister for Police and Emergency Services, because I do not always get the answers that I should.
Some amendments will be made to the bill. The minister will obviously be the first cab off the rank in terms of changing the reference to “the minister” in relation to commissioner’s warrants to “a judge”. I am just checking whether the amendments have been written correctly, because some areas might be a little difficult.

Mrs M.H. Roberts: The amendments were drafted by parliamentary counsel.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: They do not always get legislation right. The minister and her colleagues have a number of times brought into the house legislation that they have needed to amend, never mind the legislation requiring amending by us.

Mrs M.H. Roberts: Don’t get upset.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: I have to lift my blood pressure a bit because it is getting a bit too low and I might faint. I have to work myself up a bit.

Mrs M.H. Roberts: Don’t do that here, please.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: That is the effect the minister has on me; that is the trouble.

Subject: Terrorism (Extraordinary Powers) Bill 2005 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 11 October 2005

Hansard reference: p. 6074 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

