Skip to content

tweet-lovin’ man

10 January, 2013
by

Searching through the Hansard archives for mentions of social media (and parliamentary use) to accompany research being carried out around the election.

Dr K.D. HAMES: […] What I said not just for this patient but for all patients in those areas, particularly in the Deputy Leader of the Opposition’s electorate and the electorate of his leader, who is concentrating on his SMS, probably referring to Mr Rudd resigning as foreign minister —

Mr M. McGowan: It is Twitter, actually.

Dr K.D. HAMES: I presume members opposite have all been getting that information on Twitter.

Mr J.N. Hyde: Concentrate on the health of Western Australians!

Dr K.D. HAMES: You don’t want to talk about those conflicts!

Mr J.N. Hyde: He is not focused on sick Western Australians!

Mr M. McGowan: Keep your mind on the job!

Dr K.D. HAMES: The only reason I referred to that is because the Leader of the Opposition was twittering away when I was trying to talk to him about health in his electorate. The Deputy Leader of the Opposition asks why I do not talk about health. I do not talk about health to the Leader of the Opposition because he is twittering about Mr Rudd, I presume.

Mr M. McGowan: Tweeting—you have the terminology incorrect! I was not tweeting.

Dr K.D. HAMES: I am not into tweeting. The sad news is I text longhand, not shorthand. I am a bit old-fashioned. I am not a young fellow like the Leader of the Opposition!

Subject: Elective Surgery – Pre-Surgical Assessment Waitlist [Legislative Assembly – Questions Without Notice]

Date: 22 February 2012

Hansard reference: pp. 220-221 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

