Skip to content

all the time in the world

18 July, 2013
by

The start of Hon Ken Travers’s six hour Second Reply speech:

HON KEN TRAVERS (North Metropolitan) [5.18 pm]: I am pleased to inform the house that I am the lead speaker for the opposition on the Duties Legislation Amendment Bill 2013.

Hon Peter Collier: You’ve only got 10 minutes!

Hon KEN TRAVERS: You wish, Leader! Standing orders provide time for me to make a full and comprehensive analysis of the bill for the house, and I intend to do so.

Hon Simon O’Brien: You’ve only got unlimited time, so don’t use it all!

Hon KEN TRAVERS: I encouraged Hon Norman Moore to take his inspiration from the member of the United States House of Representatives who recently clocked up over 55 years in Congress.

Hon Michael Mischin: On the one speech?

Hon KEN TRAVERS: No. In the upper house of Texas the other day, a place that I visited in the 1990s, I believe someone spoke for over 10 hours. Unless I get too many interjections, it is not my intention to take quite that long today.

Subject: Duties Legislation Amendment Bill 2013 [Legislative Council – Second Reading]

Date: 27 June 2013

Hansard reference: p. 2293 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

