Skip to content

becoming more like Jeff

18 September, 2013
by

HON NICK GOIRAN (South Metropolitan) [5.06 pm]: Before I was rudely interrupted by afternoon tea and question time, we were considering this motion by the Leader of the House. As I was saying to those who missed my important instalment earlier, this is a most serious matter. I was about to give members an understanding of a case that has recently appeared before the Supreme Court. When I was speaking a little earlier before the afternoon tea-break, I was probably not myself. Unfortunately, I was slightly distressed because I had missed the opportunity to speak on a bill earlier this afternoon, so I learnt an important lesson today. One must always pay attention to the proceedings in the house even if one is away on urgent parliamentary business because once we have missed the opportunity and things have sped through to the third reading, that is the end of that.

Hon Ken Travers: Have you only just learnt that?

Hon NICK GOIRAN: That was an unfortunate lesson for me this afternoon. Nevertheless, I am grateful that I happen to be in the chamber at the right time because I certainly want to contribute to this matter. If I did not seem in good form earlier, that is the reason.

Hon Ken Travers: If you were a member of the Wiggles, you would wear the purple shirt, wouldn’t you?

Hon NICK GOIRAN: Probably not, Hon Ken Travers, but that is a conversation for another day. As much as I would like to spend some time talking about the Wiggles, and continue to be distracted by Hon Ken Travers, unfortunately, the matter before us is most serious.

Subject: Protection of the Identity of Journalists’ Information [Legislative Council – Motion]

Date: 12 September 2013

Hansard reference: pp. 3997-3998 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

