Skip to content

the spirit of giving

28 November, 2013
by

HON MARK MCGOWAN AND HON JIM CHOWN
Statement

HON DARREN WEST (Agricultural) [5.29 pm]: With the indulgence of Mr President and members, I want to make a much shorter member’s statement. I want to make a point of clarification about a debate that was held today during non-government business, in which we moved that the Legislative Council condemn the Barnett government for the closure of the tier 3 rail lines. During that debate, there was an exchange across the house between several members and Hon Jim Chown, and Hon Jim Chown made a reference to Mark McGowan joining the Liberal Party. During the course of that exchange, I called across the chamber, “You lot are welcome to him”. I want to make it very clear that that comment was in reference to Hon Jim Chown and not the member for Rockingham and Leader of the WA Labor Party, Mark McGowan. I have worked with Mark McGowan for 14 years. He is a person for whom I have extraordinarily high regard, and I consider him to be a friend. Mark McGowan is the shadow Minister for Regional Development, and I am proud to serve as his shadow parliamentary secretary. So I want it on the record in Hansard that the comment that I made across the chamber was in no way in reference to Mark McGowan. Members on that side of that house are more than welcome to Hon Jim Chown. We will keep Mark McGowan as the next Premier of Western Australia.

HON MARK MCGOWAN AND HON JIM CHOWN
Statement

HON SIMON O’BRIEN (South Metropolitan) [5.31 pm]: In a spirit of bipartisanship, I would like to thank Hon Darren West for his point of clarification. I think I speak for all of us on this side when I say that we are delighted to decline his purported offer that we should have Mark McGowan.

Hon Ken Travers: I thought you were declining Jim Chown!

Hon SIMON O’BRIEN: No. We love Jim. We will keep Jim.

Hon Ken Travers: You know the rules about misleading the house, don’t you?

Hon SIMON O’BRIEN: The thought that members opposite might have lost him has clearly upset them! So they can keep Mark McGowan, and good luck to them! And now, Mr President, I intend to do something that will make me popular on all sides of the house, and sit down.

Subject: Hon Mark McGowan and Hon Jim Chown / Hon Mark McGowan and Hon Jim Chown [Legislative Council – Statement]

Date: 21 November 2013

Hansard reference: pp. 6409-6410 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

