Skip to content

secret plan

22 January, 2014
by

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: […] If police officers are seconded to the Western Australia Police Service, they should be under the control and command of the Western Australian Commissioner of Police, albeit temporarily. That matter is not covered in the bill. I have proposed an amendment to deal with that issue.

Mrs M.H. Roberts: Which of your amendments covers that?

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: The amendment to clause 18(4). It seeks to delete the words “force of which he or she is a member, despite the appointment”.

Mrs M.H. Roberts: Do you know that it is not on your list of amendments?

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: Yes, it is.

Mrs M.H. Roberts: Do you have two pages of amendments?

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: No, I have one page of amendments. These are my amendments, not the minister’s. The minister is looking at her amendments.

Mrs M.H. Roberts: This is a list of Johnson amendments for Johnson to move. The Assembly attendant has just given me the same list of amendments.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: I have the original. It was photocopied –

Mrs M.H. Roberts: You have amendments to clause 7 –

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: Clauses 7, 8 and 9, and this amendment is to clause 18(4).

Mrs M.H. Roberts: Clauses 8 and 9 and then it goes straight to clauses 20, 21 and 30. That is what has been handed out by the Clerk. There is no amendment to clause 18 on the list that has been handed out.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: The Clerk has just given me a copy that includes an amendment to clause 18. Does the minister have a copy of that?

Dr E. Constable: It is not on my copy either.

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: I assure members that it is not my fault. I gave the amendments to the Clerk and the Clerk has done it. We have a panic situation.

Mrs M.H. Roberts: Do you have some secret amendments?

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: No, not at all.

Mrs M.H. Roberts: It’s not that I’m paranoid, you realise!

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: I gave this page of amendments quite willingly and of my own free will. The amendment is on the Clerk’s list.

Ms M.M. Quirk: You’ve handed them out on a need-to-know basis!

Mr R.F. JOHNSON: I can assure the member that she needs to know!

Subject: Terrorism (Extraordinary Powers) Bill 2005 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 11 October 2005

Hansard reference: pp. 6075-6076 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

