Skip to content

on a limb

24 January, 2014
by

Mr J.M. FRANCIS replied: […] The government has committed $6 million over four years to implement and roll out this technology, and I am pleased to announce that as of 20 May we have started to fit dangerous offenders with GPS trackers. As of today, we actually now have 16 dangerous sex offenders being tracked throughout Western Australia, mostly across the metropolitan area, and it is a great system.

Several members interjected.

The SPEAKER: Members!

Mr J.M. FRANCIS: Like any tool, of course, it will have its limitations and capabilities. Yes, member for Cockburn, the best way to work out what the limitations and capabilities are of any system are to try it for ourselves. So, for the last three days and two nights I have been sleeping with, showering with and coming to work with a GPS tracker strapped to my leg.

Several members interjected.

Mr J.M. FRANCIS: I have been testing the system so that I can put my hand on my heart and know exactly what the capabilities and limitations are.

Mr F.M. Logan: Table the minister!

Mr J.M. FRANCIS: I cannot table my leg!

Mr P. Papalia: Lucky it’s not a serious matter!

Mr J.M. FRANCIS: It is a very serious matter. In fact, as part of the trials —

Mr P. Papalia: It’s a stunt!

Mr J.M. FRANCIS: — I have had geographic fencing put around certain areas of my electorate, and I have tested to see just what the response time has been. I can tell the house that as soon as someone crosses a boundary, within three seconds their leg starts vibrating.

Several members interjected.

Mr J.M. FRANCIS: That is a serious matter! Within 45 seconds, there is a phone call from the tracking unit. They are on top of it.

Several members interjected.

The SPEAKER: Members!

Subject: Duties Legislation Amendment Bill 2013 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 12 June 2013

Hansard reference: pp. 1370-1371 [online (pdf)]

Leave a Reply

