Skip to content

musical interjection

26 January, 2014
by

Ms J.M. FREEMAN: […] Anyway, I have digressed, and I am having a very pleasant time having a chat, but I probably should get back to the purposes of this bill.

Mr R.H. Cook: Member, is it true that it’s your birthday today?

Ms J.M. FREEMAN: It is, member! It is my birthday today. Is it true that the member for Kwinana probably had a glass of champagne with me to celebrate it, henceforth I am a bit sort of more animated than I would normally be?

Mr R.H. Cook: No, I wouldn’t drink; no, I think you are —

Dr K.D. Hames: Is this when we sing Happy Birthday?

Mr R.H. Cook: You could do it by way of interjection!

Ms J.M. FREEMAN: Interjection!

Dr K.D. Hames: Are you 21 again?

Ms J.M. FREEMAN: By way of interjection, the minister could, but he might not want to do that! I actually have a strong policy, having an occupational health and safety background, that when we are at work, like the rest of the population, we should not drink, but I suppose on our birthdays we are allowed a slight thing! Just to show the intention of this particular speech, excuse me, Mr Acting Speaker (Mr I.C. Blayney), may I have an extension?

[Member’s time extended.]

Dr K.D. Hames: I was hoping to stand and make some very salient points about this legislation.

Ms J.M. FREEMAN: Well, I am happy if I am directed with another Post-it note, but the Post-it note seems to direct me —

Dr K.D. Hames: To keep going until close, yes.

Subject: Royal Perth Hospital Protection Bill 2013 [Legislative Assembly – Second Reading]

Date: 12 June 2013

Hansard reference: p. 1412 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

