Skip to content

a certain romance

20 February, 2014
by

Mr McGOWAN: Mr Acting Speaker, I am ecstatic that this motion has been brought on now. I have spoken on this issue about four times, either as a matter of public interest, private members’ business or in general debate. It has provided me with more and more opportunities to say what a terrific decision it was to take the railway up the freeway into Perth.

Mr Pendal interjected.

Mr McGOWAN: I will get to the arguments put by the member for South Perth. I always thought he was an old-style Tory, a man who believes in the principles of Edmund Burke, but he is actually a nimby – a lightish-green, slightly pink nimby.

Mr Pendal: A green, pink nimby? Mr Acting Speaker, can I take a point of order on that?

Mr McGOWAN: I always had a sort of romantic view of the member for South Perth.

Several members interjected.

Mr Pendal: What? I take a point of order on that. You just keep over there!

Subject: Southern Metropolitan Rail Link Route [Legislative Assembly – Motion]

Date: 14 November 2001

Hansard reference: p. 5567 [online (pdf)]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

